Best Teen & YA Books of 2014 (So Far) Part 4

BestTeen&YABooksPart4

 

1. What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle’s Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He’s a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island’s summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she’ll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen’s dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

2. The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the rules. Remember what happened. Never fall in love.

This is the story of seventeen-year-old Prenna James, who immigrated to New York when she was twelve. Except Prenna didn’t come from a different country. She came from a different time—a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic, killing millions and leaving the world in ruins.

Prenna and the others who escaped to the present day must follow a strict set of rules: never reveal where they’re from, never interfere with history, and never, ever be intimate with anyone outside their community. Prenna does as she’s told, believing she can help prevent the plague that will one day ravage the earth.

But everything changes when Prenna falls for Ethan Jarves.

From Ann Brashares, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, The Here and Now is thrilling, exhilarating, haunting, and heartbreaking—and a must-read novel of the year.

Feedback Requested – Screens & Writers

I may post about all I’ve listed here in the poll, or I may not. It depends on the number of votes. I really would like your feedback!

Thanks so much for being a follower of this blog!

Shailene Woodley and Theo James talk ‘Insurgent’

Divergent Faction

20140729-074412-27852761.jpg

In their latest interview with BuzzFeed, Shai talks about Tris rocking her pixie cut and Theo says we’ll get a good character development.

“This is what you’ll be seeing,” she told BuzzFeed while promoting the DivergentBlu-ray/DVD release. “I talked to the director [Robert Schwentke] because I didn’t want to wear a wig. I think wigs always look wiggy, especially in an action movie. We’re running so much and doing so much, I think, technically, a wig would have looked quite shitty (…) I think it’s cool to have a young heroine with short hair”

“When I’m looking at Shai on screen, now you get a character progression in a visual way,” he told BuzzFeed. “There’s a maturity and a difference between the character here and in the first movie.”

Also they both agree that ‘Insurgent’ will be bigger than ‘Divergent’ and filled with action:

“You have to honor the material for…

View original post 59 more words